Just rest

Lately, I’ve become aware again of how fragile a human life is and how blessed we are to be loved by the Creator, who wants to wrap us in His arms. He is the Only One who can truly add color to a world that, at times, only seems to be getting darker. I think we are all aware of how small we actually are as human beings and how easily we can be robbed of things. This, I believe, is one of the main reasons why we allow ourselves so little rest. We hang on tightly to our fast-paced lives, while in the meantime beckoning for a slower-paced one. But to let go, means to actually allow ourselves rest. And this frightens us. What happens when we don’t have a busy, scheduled week? What happens when we don’t have people around us, things distracting us and needing us? We become aware of who we are: small, fragile human beings, who in the end, can’t control anything.

There are moments when I am more aware of this than others. And in those particular moments where I feel fragile and small and restless, I’ve become especially fond of the following verse: “Let the beloved of the Lord rest secure in him, for he shields him all day long, and the one the Lord loves rests between his shoulder.”

This verse inspired me to write a song, something I enjoy doing once in a while. I would like to share the lyrics with you. I hope that these words will help bring the same peace to your life as it does to mine. When we are fragile, there is One who will wrap us in His arms. He is asking, just rest in Me.

Lying awake countless nights.
Troubling thoughts in my mind.
Can’t seem to let go, can’t seem to trust,
While knowing Your promise remains.

Trying so hard to not fail.
Wanting to prove I can change.
All in my own strength,
All with no luck,
While knowing Your promise remains.

You’ve promised to shield me all day.
You want me to rest between Your shoulders.
You say to me, beloved child,
Just rest securely in Me.

I know your Word never fails.
Still I find it hard to have faith.
Fill me with Your strength,
Fill my heart with peace,
Remind me Your promise remains.

You’ve promised to shield me all day.
You want me to rest between Your shoulders.
You say to me, beloved child,
Just rest securely in Me.

The road may get hard to tread.
Yet You’ve never let go of me.
Break these chains of fear,
For I know Your promise remains.

2 thoughts on “Just rest

Leave a Reply

