DIY: Turning old into new

This past week has been one where I have let worries and fears take too much control of my mind and life. I have been tense and stressed. This weakness of mine is something I have been trying to grow in by learning to just let go (whenever I say that the song “Let It Go” from Frozen pops into my mind, which makes me smile already 😉).

The funny (and oh so challenging) thing in life is that when we decide to turn old, bad habits into new and good ones, we tend to get extra challenged in not giving into our weaknesses before a new strength starts developing. It feels like when we decide to change, we get attacked even more at our weak spot so we can really start making healthy choices and fighting back. I find that very tiring and challenging. Changing old thoughts into new (colorful) ones is a tiring process that needs some enlightenment along the way! And that is what I needed today. I had to do something to just relax and turn my attention to something fun instead of my fears.

So, I finally started (and finished) a mini project I had lying around. I had an old picture frame that I wanted to turn into something colorful for in my babies’ room (I forgot to take a picture of it before I went decorating!). Working with my fun art supplies, deciding on colors and the perfect places to put things on helped ease off some of the stress. I was almost literally trying to live colorfully by making something beautiful….

I really like how it turned out. And I hope it will encourage me and help me to do the same with my thoughts. Old things (even old, not so healthy habits!) can be turned into something new, which will add beauty to an area in our lives. We just need to let ourselves take the time to create.

So DIY (Do It Yourself!), change something old into something new.

One thought on “DIY: Turning old into new

  1. Mommy says:

    Hi Nanda, great idee turning something old into something new!
    I have a lot of these……… :-). Love you!!

Leave a Reply

