Beautiful Mondays: Ice Cream Memories

One of our favorite things to do as a family is to go out for ice cream. Before we had kids, my husband and I would go out for ice cream every sunday as soon as the weather got warmer. We had three favorite ice cream salons, in three different towns. So each sunday we would pick one to go to. Because of that, we decided to take some of our wedding pictures at one of those ice cream salons.

Ice Cream WeddingBut things changed a little once we had our baby boy (and now our baby girl). It got a little harder to just go off and get ice cream each sunday, especially since we don’t own a car. And the first seven months a bicycle is no option. But, to be honest, it makes the times we do go out for ice cream extra special.

This past weekend the weather has gotten a lot warmer here. So on sunday we decided to go out for ice cream (we had a car available for our use!). I love watching my son enjoy his ice cream. He, of course, wants not only his own, but also some of mine and some of his dad’s. He still has to learn how to properly eat them though. It was a great way to end an already fun and relaxing weekend.

I am a definitely a huge ice cream lover. It doesn’t have to be summer for me to eat ice cream. I love it on the cold, wintery days as well! Sometimes it tastes even better then! You can imagine, then, that I was excited when I saw different recipes for making your own popsicles on Pinterest. And I’m not talking about just the normal lemonade type popsicles. There are yoghurt flavored ones, lots of different fruit types (with real pieces of fruit in them!) and even cocktail flavored ones!

I didn’t pin a lot of them yet, just the kid-friendly ones and the ones that weren’t too hard and time-consuming to make. One recipe (and blog, for that matter) really got me excited: Funfetti Creamsicles.

These are popsicles that have sprinkles in them! And I LOVE sprinkles on ice cream. It is almost a must have. You can find the recipe on Studio DIY. If you are not a popsicle lover or don’t feel like making them, definitely check out her website. Just the homepage should get you feeling inspired on this Monday. She has some fun and creative ideas on there.

I bought these really cute popsicle mold (for my Dutch readers, you can buy these at the Action).

popsicle molds

I was very excited to try the recipe. However, I haven’t tested them yet. I am honestly a bit scared to try them out because I am almost positive they didn’t turn out the way they were supposed too. I don’t know how they managed to get pretty orange creamsicles because my turned out blue…Maybe my sprinkles had too much food coloring in them. Or maybe I should have used freshly squeezed orange juice instead of the store-bought kind. I don’t know. I will have my hubby test them out 🙂
Here you can see my creamsicle making process…and where the “batter” turned blue. If you try them, I hope yours get a better color! Let me know.

The Making of Funfetti Creamsicles

Treat yourself to an ice cream today or try making them yourself. Have a beautiful Monday!

❤ Nan

One thought on “Beautiful Mondays: Ice Cream Memories

  1. Mommy says:

    Am I the only one writing a reply each week. :-). Do you know how encouraging it is for Nan to read how you like her articles!! Nanda I loved seeing the foto’s you guys took, eating icecream on your weddingday, at your faverite icecream place!!! Love you, mommy.

Leave a Reply

