Beautiful Mondays: A lemony memory

Lemon Bars

When I was in high school, I lived in a dorm for a while because my parents were doing missionary work in a small town that was located (or isolated) on top of a mountain. My sister and I lived with a family and about 6 other kids. Each night, there would be a home-baked snack waiting for us. My all-time favorite was the lemon bar. If I ate one, I had to eat another one…and another one…and just one more.

This, however, became quite a conflict when I started dieting. All other snacks (and food) I could easily avoid and ignore. The lemon bar, however, was my weakness. When those were baked, a plate full would be beckoning me to take not just one, but a couple more.When my dieting started to become an obsession and my dorm-mom starting worrying, the lemon bar started making a weekly appearance. And my dorm-mom would lovinlgy tell me that she had made lemon bars, just for me. I hated this. All I wanted was to eat nothing, definitely not anything sweet, but there was that plate with lemon bars, begging me to eat just one. But one was never enough. So, they were my weakness. I don’t think I stopped eating them during that time. Maybe I just limited the amount.

Well, back in Holland, I got to know my husband who loves all things lemony. So I decided to ask my dorm-mom for her recipe and make him lemon bars. I was SHOCKED when I saw the ingredients. No wonder my dorm-mom loved feeding the way too skinny me those bars! The amount of sugar (and butter) would make any dieting person look the other way.

These lemon bars still are a weakness to me. And now have become a special request from my husband and baby son. I enjoy eating them on a warm summer day. And they always bring back the memories of my times in the dorm.

Lemon Bars

Lemon Bars by CB

So, for all you lemon-lovers and those with a sweet tooth, here is a lemon bar recipe you must give a try. You won’t regret them.

Recipe for Lemon Bars

Lemon Bars
Ingredients:
1/2 cup flour
2/3 cup powdered sugar
3/4 cup butter, softened
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 Tablespoons flour
1/4 cup lemon juice

How to make it:
Combine flour, sugar and butter.
Pat into greased 13×9 inch baking pan.
Bake at 350 F for 20 mintues.
Meanwhile, in a bowl, whisk eggs, sugar, flour and lemon juice until frothy. Pour over the hot crust.
Bake ate 350 F for 20-25 minutes or until light golden brown.
Cool on wire rack.
Dust with powdered sugar.
Cut into squares.

Enjoy this recipe and let me know what you think!

Have a beautiful Monday!

❤ Nan

P.s. Don’t forget to follow me on instagram, where you can follow my journey as a beginning stylist.

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Mondays: A lemony memory

Leave a Reply

