Lessons Learned

It has been a while since I have written something. I have missed three Beautiful Mondays in a row. I have been debating whether or not I should continue with this blog because I haven’t felt inspired. I decided to keep my blog, but to stop with Beautiful Mondays. Right now it is too much to HAVE to write something every monday. I don’t always have something to write about, which made me just post whatever.

In the last weeks, my mind has been full (like usual). And things have been bottling up on the inside. Good things have happened to. So I just want to share some of the things I have been “dealing” with these last weeks.

  1. Blessings or encouragement sometimes come from people whom you least expect it.  I have been working on promoting and selling some handmade things. If you have been following me along on facebook or instagram, you will have seen some of my work. Someone asked me to make some signs for a wedding she is styling. I never expected her to come to me. But in this act I was shown to never be too quick to judge and that people whom you don’t expect it from are often used to give you an extra nudge of encouragement.
  2. Being selfless is hard. Wow, I have been reflecting a lot on my actions and thoughts. And my conclusion is, life is too often centered around me. And I often kind of expect people to just follow along. I realize, this is human nature. We all want life to revolve around us, which is what can make loving the other sometimes so hard. But I am learning to be selfless and invest, even when I’m tired. I am starting this at home because this is where it is easiest to be selfish. I have such a giving and selfless husband, that I sometimes forget he wants to be truly heard as well. He also needs time and attention.
  3. Masks are too real in this world. I have discovered that it is too easy to pretend. Sometimes I feel like every person wears a mask, all the time, me included. And that’s what makes friendships hard. We are too scared to be ourselves, so we adjust to each and every situation. We have a work mask, a church mask, a shopping mask, a friendship mask and even a family mask. We adjust in a different way to each person and situation. This isn’t always a bad thing, but it becomes bad when we can no longer be honest and true to ourselves. I struggle with this. I have been working on “unmasking” myself and the more I do, the more I realize how we have lost ourselves in a world where there are high expectations.
  4. Honesty is what heals. I think this one is linked to the previous one. But I have discovered that, due to us wearing masks, we find it hard to be honest. We all keep our thoughts and even emotions to ourselves because what if we hurt someone? Or what if we miss an opportunity due to honesty? But bottling up our thoughts and emotions only brings more damage. Not necessarily to someone else, but to our own hearts. It is the first step to grudges and anger. Recently I read that we need to guard our hearts from grudges and anger. Why? It leads to more damage. And will eventually damage the relationship we have.

I guess what I want to say is to count your blessings. Don’t be too quick to judge. We never know where someone is coming from or why he acts the way he does. Being selfless is hard, but it is worth working at. We can enjoy more blessings when we stop focussing on ourselves. Try taking of your masks. I know I am. It is scary, but don’t you want to be the real you? And lastly, practice being honest. For some of you, that may be sharing the hurts you have inside. For others, it means learning to say “I love you” or “I am proud of you”.

We are all on a journey. Each one with his own struggles. And that’s okay. Because that is life. And that will ultimately make us cling more to the Father.

3 thoughts on “Lessons Learned

  1. Daddy says:

    It is all so true but hard to put it in practice.
    May the Lord help us in that process, because we are all on that journey, aren’t we?
    Love you and I’m proud of you,
    Your daddy

Leave a Reply

